Placing blocks

Once your block is created, placing your block is a straightforward process regardless of which outlined method you prefer to use in a given circumstance.

Place Block Button - Attaching a block in-page

This method is recommended if you have single block to add; it's the easiest and quickest approach.

  1. Look in the upper right corner of your admin panel and locate the Place Block button. Click the button.
  2. Doing so is going to reveal all the available regions on your page where a block can be attached, represented by a plus sign in a square box surrounded by a dotted line rectangle:
    Place block attachment regions
  3. Hover on any of the block regions to see the name of the region if you're not certain where you're adding your block.
  4. Click on the plus sign (the add block button).
  5. The Place Block dialogue box will appear allowing you search for your already created block. Select it from the list and then configure your block settings.
  6. Click the Save block button located at the bottom right of the Place Block dialogue box.
  7. The dialogue box will disappear, returning you to your page view. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click your Save and publish or Save as unpublished to finish.

 

Placing Multiple Blocks - The Block Layout Page

In instances where you have a special configuration in mind, will be attaching multiple blocks at one time, and/or defining your preferred order of blocks from top to bottom or left to right, using the Block Layout page is the recommended approach.

  1. Using your admin panel click on Shortcuts > Blocks.
  2. The page is broken down in columns titled Block, Category, Region, Operations. Scan under the Block header for the region you want to use for your block display. Click its Place Block button.
  3. The Place Block dialogue box will appear allowing you search for your already created block. Select it from the list and then configure your block settings.
  4. Click the Save block button located at the bottom right of the Place Block dialogue box.
  5. The dialogue box will disappear, returning you to the Block Layout screen. If you're finished, scroll to the bottom and click the Save blocks button.

Re-ordering blocks in the Black Layout screen

Use the pull handle located to the left of each of the block listings to drag 'n' drop them into the order you want them to appear based on the Visibility settings you've implemented.

Pull handle location for blocks in the block layout page
The highlighted pull handles are your means of dragging and dropping your blocks to positions that represent the order you want your block content to appear on pages, based on each block's Visibility settings.

The block position in the list is read this way:

  • closest to the top in the block region list means it will display starting at the top of a list of vertical blocks, at the bottom it will display closest to the bottom.
  • closest to the top in the block region list means it will display starting at the left of a list of horizontal blocks, at the bottom it will display closest to the right.

Tags